Fighting on all fronts

SamCurran-CareerAhead

As my time at University comes to an end, I, like many graduates, face an uncertain future. The job market is becoming more and more competitive and employers understandably want more for their money in the harsh economic conditions we find ourselves in at the moment.

Personally, I have still not got a full-time job yet, but I have learnt that variety and initiative are key ingredients of being successful in life. Sometimes in life you have to make your own opportunities. That’s one of the reasons that I set up my proofreading business, which I hope will be a big part of my future. I already have a fairly sizeable list of regular clients and with careful advertising this should continue to increase. After all, there will always be a demand for proofreading.

I also do a lot of private tuition and when I say a lot, I mean loads. This week as been half term and I have been off from my placement but I have tutored every single day this week so far, some days doing up to 7 hours tutoring. You have to work hard if you want to be successful in life. I do enjoy doing it though and it is a viable way of increasing my skills whilst earning some income on the side.

I also do quite a lot of writing online, although the money I make from these is fairly parlous. The trick is to sign up to a lot of sites, as the pay they offer isn’t great. I also do surveys, but again you only earn passive income from these sorts of sites… they are the sort of thing you would do when you are watching the television to make a little bit of money.

All of this might sound like I want to be my own boss, but that’s not true. I have a couple of part-time tutoring jobs lined up in Darlington, my home town and I am trying to secure more work back there, including being an exam marker, invigilator and the possibility of some admin work.

However, being my own boss definitely appeals to me one day, but that is just a distant speck on the horizon at the moment. Right now I am just concentrating on building my future and getting some work. Often you can make money from the most obscure of sources. For instance, I am a member of a survey site who offered me some work placing adverts on job sites. Several hours of hard work later, and I now earn nearly £6,000 a year from that particular position. The key to making money is doing a lot of different things.

So hopefully I will get to where I want to be in life. Good things come to those that wait! 

Sam has his own proofreading business. He charges from £3.00 per 1,000 words. He can help with style and content as well as grammatical and formatting issues. Sam has proofread for 6 years and has proofread pieces of work from Undergraduate to PHD level as well as editing CVs, job applications and personal statements. The business has its own Facebook page ‘Efficient Editing’ which you can contact Sam through. You can also get in touch with Sam by emailing him at samcurran@live.co.uk. Sam is currently on track for a first in his secondary maths teaching degree, where the lowest mark he has achieved is 65.

