Meet Hannah: a placement student in Library and Student Services!

Hey, I’m Hannah Kendal; and I’ve just finished a 5 week alternate placement with Library and Student Services. A bit about me… I’m 20, I’ve been studying Early Years Education at the Lancaster campus for 3 years now and most of my friends are getting increasingly worried about my obsession with Dragon Age Inquisition!

I originally planned to study Teaching with Qualified Teacher Status, however, I soon began to wonder whether this was the right path for me. It was then that I started to think I would love to have the opportunity to work within the University of Cumbria as a placement student, and looking ahead, hopefully as a graduate intern. It was because of this that I decided to drop down the additional Qualified Teacher Status and to approach the library at the Lancaster campus in search of a placement within Library and Student Services, which has resulted in a truthfully amazing experience. The one piece of advice I would give to those of you considering a similar change would be to access the support and advice available from either your tutor or from one of the Careers Advisers on hand before taking any action. It’s never a good idea to make a rash decision!

I’ve spent the last five weeks with various departments in Library and Student Services, and meeting with lots of people to find out their job roles, their departments and the way they help students. Everyone has been really kind and friendly, giving me lots of help, support and guidance to ensure I have the best experience I could have on a placement. My first week and my last week were spent with the learning centres team; who you most often see on the front desk. I’ve been learning the query list and picking list; becoming more familiar with the Dewey decimal system, and annoyingly finding about 50 books that would have been perfect for the assignments I’d already handed in!

I then moved over to the Careers team and the AESR team, where I spent two weeks working on some really exciting projects that hopefully you might experience the outcome of soon, getting help and support from all the amazing people around me to conduct surveys, analyse findings and present the outcomes to Lancaster and Carlisle teams, which was nerve wracking but exciting. In the learning core I was able to work on the newsletter that was delivered to all the Library and Student Services staff as guest editor, and here I am now writing a guest post for the careers blog- both are an amazing honour that I hope I’ve done justice.

Overall, I’ve met so many lovely people, been invited to training days, included in meetings and given the opportunity to learn so much about Library and Student Services and the way it works- we have so much support in place that I wish I’d taken advantage of earlier. I’d like to thank everyone I’ve worked with for all their support, as I can honestly say this placement has been a complete joy-and one that has given me such fantastic insight into all the work that goes on behind the scenes to help support students here at the university.

Finally, I would just like to add that if you are considering pursuing a placement in a new area, don’t hesitate to access the support available from Library and Student Services, the Careers Service can offer tailored 1-1 appointments to help you get the most out of any new opportunity you might want to explore.

Hannah

