Alumni Guest Blog: Praise for UoC Careers!

dan grey

Alumni Daniel Grey

Teaching is something that I have always had an interest in from an early age, being able to aid development of young pupils cognitively and physically is something which I feel passionate about. Studying Physical Education at GCSE, A-Level and then at degree level was something which reaffirmed my desire to continue down the path within this profession. Upon completing my degree I had no hesitation as to signing up to complete a 2 year part-time PGCE in Post Compulsory Education and Training (PCET), a course which continued to develop me further as a teaching practitioner.

Upon completing my studies, I had found securing a full time permanent position very difficult. I signed up for and completed my Qualified Teaching and Learning Skills (QTLS) to aid my chances of securing such a role.

However, I am under no illusion as to the main source of support I received which directly influenced me in securing a full time temporary position with a view to being made permanent. Andy Keir from the Careers Team went above and beyond to help me showcase my skills effectively. Scheduled telephone appointments and emails enabled me to create a tailored Curriculum Vitae and Personal Statement which I felt confident submitting in application of advertised jobs. I instantly began to receive interviews due to the improvement of my new personal documents, which finally lead to me being offered the role of Higher Level Teaching Assistant (HLTA) in and Emotional and Behavioural Development (EBD) School.

I can’t thank Andy and the Careers Team enough for the time and effort they spent tailoring my CV and Personal Statement, that coupled with their friendly patient nature was the singlehanded reason I am currently within my first full time teaching role, doing a job that I love.

Content written by Alumni: Daniel Grey, graduated 2011

