A week in the life of a UoC Placement Student

 

Carlisle_Grammar_School_logo

This week, UoC has had the pleasure of welcoming placement student, Adam to our campus. We asked him to give us his say on how he found his work experience!

A bit about Adam…

My name is Adam Parker; I’m a student at Trinity 6th Form in Carlisle, studying Computing, Maths, History and Physics. I’ve recently had the chance to do a Work Experience Placement with The University of Cumbria.

Why did you choose UoC for your work experience?

I chose to do it here because the potential work fitted in well with my interests, namely librarian work and administration.

What have you had the opportunity to do on your placement?

During my placement here I’ve been working in the Library, performing various tasks pertaining to the work there, such as banking, shadowing desk/enquiries staff and removing and withdrawing books. I’ve also had the opportunity to work in the Careers office where I’ve used social media to advertise placements and vacancies, as well as learnt about the large range of events which are provided for students and others.

How has your work experience been useful?

I believe work placements like this one are very important for students of all ages to participate in because they help develop a good work ethic, give you a view of where your interests could take you in employment and look great on your CV.

Would you recommend your placement with UoC?

I would highly recommend The University of Cumbria as a work placement as there are many different roles to work in, staff are friendly, helpful and engaging and the facilities are modern and well equipped.

adam.parker@trinity.cumbria.sch.uk

