Finding Your Graduate Destination, Part two – I’m getting there, I just have a few questions…

About to graduate? Where are you in your career planning? Are you walking into a job, have no idea what you’ll be doing or are you somewhere in between? In this mini blog series, we will look at the support available to you at each stage.

 

We all progress through our careers at different rates, making our own choices about what is important to us and what is not. This is how it should be as we are all individuals with different goals. No matter where you are in your career journey your Careers and Employability Service can help you take your next steps.

 

One useful tool that offers support is 50 Ways to Get a Job That Makes Good. This allows you to either focus on where you are right now in your career or to work through 50 useful steps to help you advance your career.

 

 

Part two – I’m getting there, I just have a few questions…

I have a career goal, how do I get there?

Where is the best place to look for jobs?

I’m applying for jobs but not getting invited to interview, why not?

How do I do well at interview?

I’ve been offered a job but I’m not sure if it’s right for me, how do I know?

What are my employment rights?

Should I do an unpaid internship?

How do I get the work experience needed?

When do I ask about the salary for the job?

Should I start my own business?

Once you begin searching and applying for job roles this can bring up a whole host of new questions. Many people have different opinions on how things should be done, for example, the best way to write a CV, how to perform well at interview and when to bring up questions about the salary for a job role. If you do a search online to answer these questions, the amount of information you will find can be a bit overwhelming!

We can help! Our careers advisers spend time speaking with employers and researching into the most up-to-date information about the graduate job market. We can’t always answer every question you have straight away, however, we have a good bank of resources that we can refer to as well as knowing the right places to look online/knowing the right people to ask. From our research we have brought together some useful tools and techniques that we can share with you, please just let us know what your questions are and we will do our best to help.

 

If you have a careers query, would like feedback on an application or would like to arrange an appointment with one of our advisers please contact careers@cumbria.ac.uk.

If you are setting up a business consider accessing some free advice and support from our Student Enterprise Service. Email studententerprise@cumbria.ac.uk for more information.

 

University of Cumbria Job Shop

Employers regularly contact us with vacancies that they want to advertise to University of Cumbria students and graduates. It only takes a few minutes to sign up then you can search for vacancies and set up e-mail alerts for jobs in your area of interest. Join the Job Shop!

 

See part one, ‘I have no idea what I’m doing next – help!’, here.

Part three, ‘I know exactly where I’m headed!’, will be available here from the 12 June 2017.

 

Good luck with your next steps!

Kathryn Jones

Careers and Employability Coordinator

2 thoughts on “Finding Your Graduate Destination, Part two – I’m getting there, I just have a few questions…

  1. Pingback: Finding Your Graduate Destination, Part three – I know exactly where I’m headed! | UoC Careers

  2. Pingback: Finding Your Graduate Destination, Part one – I have no idea what I’m doing next – help! | UoC Careers

Comments are closed.